EU announces update of the Non-Cooperative Jurisdictions List (Tax matters)

The List of non-cooperative Jurisdictions for tax matters was originally established back on December 2017 as a result of the mandate to foster tax transparency delivered to the EU Council.

Since then the list has been revised a number of times and continues to be re-addressed in ongoing basis.

The latest review was produced on May 2019 with the following highlights:

Exclusions: Aruba, Barbados and Bermuda have been removed from the designations list.

Aruba has been removed form both Annexes, while Barbados en Bermuda are now part of Annex II (grey list).

As a result, 12 jurisdictions remain on the list of non-cooperative jurisdictions: American Samoa, Belize, Dominica, Fiji, Guam, Marshall Islands, Oman, Samoa, Trinidad and Tobago, United Arab Emirates, US Virgin Islands and Vanuatu.

The EU Council has confirmed its intention to produce two updates per year.

Next update will take place on 2020.



Jaime Prieto

Mr. Jaime Prieto is a lawyer experienced in Financial Crime, Anti-Money Laundering and Counter Terrorism Financing having extensive professional experience in both public and private sectors. Mr. Prieto has been a Head of Compliance in the European Union, the Americas and the Caribbean for banks, trust companies, asset managers, Big Four audit and advisory firms, RegTechs, government agencies and other types of financial professionals. In addition to his experience, he has been legal and educational chair in several compliance and sectorial organisations and performed as a teacher and speaker for a number of organisations and in several local and international forums. Furthermore, Mr. Prieto is an experienced Money Laundering Reporting Officer anda Data Protection officer with additional experience in risk management.
Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker